weatherliner.blogg.se

Metacritic gone home
Metacritic gone home




metacritic gone home

The Walking Dead game by Telltale Games is phenomenal and does the genre the correct way. Gone Home falls flat because there is no reason to play the game more than once and it does an awful job of getting the player to care about the people that are NEVER seen in the My review in two words: Hipster **** I have no problem with games that are nothing more than interactive stories. My review in two words: Hipster **** I have no problem with games that are nothing more than interactive stories. Silly me, I thought the story would develop further than it did. I only gave it a "1" because I finished it. It was a complete waste of two hours, in my opinion. The house isn't haunted, your father is completely sane, your parents are in couples therapy, and your teenage sister just ran off with her lover. But no, this ends up being a young lesbian love story, and a pretty stupid one at that. The house might even be haunted! All of these are the ingredients for a perfect casual mystery thriller. Your mother is on the verge of having an affair. You find out your father had a psychopath for an uncle, and it might possibly run in the family.

metacritic gone home

No one is home, and you don't know where anyone is. It starts out with a creepy feeling, what with the music and the storm. My boyfriend got me this game for Christmas, because I had been interested in trying it out. This game presents itself as a suspense/mystery/thriller. I even created a Metacritic account to write a review. This is one of the worst games I've every played. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wait for a Steam sale if you must, but I promise your money is better spent on just about anything else. I promise you're not missing anything here. Parking in San Francisco is cheaper than that, and at least I'd see more interesting things wandering around the city for an hour and a half than I did wandering around this game. And the length? When I finished the game, Steam smirkingly showed that I had done so in 99 minutes. The game tries to look at you with this wry smile like, "Aren't we bold and interesting? Look how progressive we are!" to which I just shake my head in confusion. The climax itself is so trite and overdone it's almost laughable. It's true that it's not a story you often see depicted in video games, but it's been done to in Hollywood and literature for decades. Of course, I'd even be fine with that (a la Heavy Rain), but it fails miserably at being an interesting story. It had plenty of opportunity to be that kind of game, but I think the developers were more interested in telling their story. No head scratchers, nothing you even have to figure out on your own. Where that falls short is that there are no interesting puzzles in the game at all. In fact, the game does a pretty good job at being simply an adventure game, in that it unfolds in front of you and gives you plenty to interact with. And it clearly doesn't want to be a game like that. It's an adventure game they don't traditionally rely greatly on twitch or other tired game types.

metacritic gone home

I'm also seeing a lot of talk on here about the gameplay being "non-gameplay". These are great qualities in a game, but this game relies almost entirely on them. I think I can boil it down to two things: Nostalgia and Originality. I'm seeing a lot of hemming and hawing in this review thread about why "professional" reviewers were going nutso over this game. And I'm going to leave it spoiler-less so people won't be inclined to skip it. These are great I literally created an account just now so I could warn against dropping $20 on this game. I literally created an account just now so I could warn against dropping $20 on this game.






Metacritic gone home